UK General Election live: Rishi Sunak admits defeat and concedes to Keir Starmer after dramatic night

To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web
browser that
supports HTML5

Up Next

Keir Starmer will be the next Prime Minister after Rishi Sunak conceded defeat in a night of crushing defeat in the General Election results.

The Labour leader is now set to enter Downing Street with one of the biggest Commons majorities in history.

The Tories have lost a record eight Cabinet ministers, beating the previous record of seven Cabinet ministerial defeats in 1997 in what is being described as a bloodbath.

Perhaps the most shocking moments of the night saw Penny Mordaunt – former Defence Secretary and current Leader of the House of Commons – and Tory MP Jacob Rees-Mogg loses their seats. Nigel Farage also became an MP on his eighth try.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email