House of Reps deputy spokesman Agbese to chair Nigeria-Finland Parliamentary Group

The deputy spokesperson of the House of Representatives, Philip Agbese, has been appointed as the chairman of the Nigeria-Finland Parliamentary Friendship Group.

His appointment was contained in a letter dated May 14, 2024, from the Office of the Speaker, Tajudeen Abbas.

With his appointment, Agbese heads a strong team of six parliamentarians from Nigeria that also includes Okere Tochukwu Chinedu (Imo) as deputy.

Others in the group are Richard Olufemi (Ekiti), Ekpo Paul (Akwa Ibom), Akiba Bassey Ekpenyong (Cross Rivers), Saba Ahmed Adam (Kwara) and Fulata Abubakar Hassan (Jigawa) as members.

Abbas charged Agbese and his colleagues to enhance Nigeria’s legislative relationship with Finland in line with the 10th National Assembly Legislative Agenda.

On his part, Agbese who represents Ado/ Okpokwu/ Ogbadibo thanked the Speaker for finding him worthy of another assignment and promised not to disappoint.

He said: “I am committed to dedicating my time, energy, and expertise to lead the group effectively and ensure its objectives are achieved. I look forward to working closely with my colleagues from both Nigeria and Finland to promote cultural exchange, economic cooperation, and parliamentary diplomacy.

“I am eager to explore opportunities for collaboration in areas such as education, innovation, and sustainable development and to facilitate dialogue and understanding between our nations. I am confident that our joint efforts will yield fruitful results and contribute to the prosperity of both Nigeria and Finland.”

House of Reps deputy spokesman Agbese to chair Nigeria-Finland Parliamentary Group

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email